top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Joy

Why I am Grateful

I can’t believe that we are nearing the end of 2021. There are about 6 weeks left in the year. As we approach the Thanksgiving holiday I am compelled to express my gratitude. The last two years have been so hard on the world. The pandemic and people dying at alarming rates has really taken its toll on us all. But despite everything that has happened I am grateful for my life.


Through my struggles in life I have learned to appreciate everything I have. My children are alive and safe. They are crazy but they are here. My husband is still alive. 2019 tried to take him away from me but he’s still here. My mother who will be 80 years old soon is still here with me. She is in her right state of mind and sometimes she still thinks she’s raising us. All 10 of my siblings are still here on this earth. I have watched this pandemic take out whole families. Corona was very unkind but it didn’t take a single person in my family. For that I am immensely grateful. I am surrounded by people who genuinely love me and want me to succeed. There was a point in my life that this wasn’t the case. I am grateful for my friends that celebrate my accomplishments but who also call me to the carpet when I am wrong.


This year after many years of not working I was blessed with a full time job. It definitely comes with its own challenges but I love my job. I love my students and my co-workers. I have learned to spend less time judging others and just accept them where they are. I don’t know what people are dealing with in their personal lives. I have no idea what motivates them to be who they are. So my job is to simply love and meet them right where they are. I have to be the light. I have a responsibility as a believer to always show who Jesus is.


Most importantly I am grateful for the love of God. He continues to show me grace and favor. Even when I don’t deserve it, he provides for me, he takes care of me, and he protects me just to name a few. God has been so good to my family and I. There is not enough time in the day to really express it all. But I am grateful for where I am and where I am headed. I am really grateful for where I came from because it has taught me to appreciate when I am and where I’m headed.


There are many things that we could complain about and most of it would probably be justified. But let's redirect all that negative energy to something positive and start focusing on everything that is going well in our lives. I promise you will feel so much better.


Happy Holidays…..

14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by The Honest Mom Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page