top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Joy

Dare to Dream

What a year. 2022 did not cease to amaze. So many lessons; so many highs and so many lows. I am going to take this time to share with you what 2022 gave me. 


So last year I started what I thought was a position that would lead me to my ultimate goal. Unfortunately at the end of the school year that ended. I was left with so many questions. I never doubted for one minute that God created and held this door open for me like the gentleman that He is. No doubt in my mind. I just couldn’t understand why it closed so fast. Now let me point out that had this exact same situation happened to me 2 or 3 years ago I would have fallen into a deep depression and would have been ready to walk away from God because this was some kind of sick game He was playing. That’s just my truth. But what I realized is just how much I had grown as a person, in my faith and in my emotions. My first response to things is not to get angry and have a pity party anymore. My response is to get centered and figure out what God’s ultimate plan is and how that particular situation fits into that. I got a little frustrated only because I needed to work and earn a living and I, at this time, didn't know how I was going to fulfill this need. I put in several applications for positions with the school system and didn’t get so much as an interview. I didn’t understand it but I refused to believe anything other than God had a plan. And He did. 


Just on a whim, I went to the website of my former employer and saw a position available for a one on one.  For the sake of context a one on one is a position for a person to work directly with a student with special needs. I would be reinforcing the skills being taught by the classroom teacher to this particular student that may struggle for one reason or another with understanding the material being taught. This stood out to me in a way that I had never experienced. I was genuinely excited about this job even before I applied for it. This was wonderful to me because I started to realize exactly why God allowed this door to close with this other school system. He has prepared me for this moment. My one year with this other school was on the job training for this next phase. God is so intentional and I love how he is always thinking ahead of my current situation. That is why he is God. I spent just a brief time without work before I started this new position. I absolutely love what I do. It is challenging and emotionally exhausting some days. But it is rewarding when you can see the investment pay off.  



This became one of my biggest lessons of 2022. We go to school and we get all this education and we finally find the job that we want or at least in my case that will get you to “your” ideal job. But sometimes your plan and your ideas don’t align with what God plans for you. You are working and serving and to you it is fulfilling. But what if God is saying there is more? What if He is telling you to walk away from your comfortable job? What if He is ushering you into ministry? What if? Will you trust Him to meet your financial needs? Will you trust him to lead you to be exactly who he created you to be? We often measure success by how much money we have earned or how high we can climb on the ladder of success or how many material possessions we can obtain. When God may be trying to use the gifts that He has given you to transform lives. My current job has shown me that I have skills that I didn’t realize I had. I have gifts that I never tapped into. Would I have known if that other door hadn’t closed? I am almost certain I wouldn’t have. God may not close the door for you, he may allow you to peek into the next door and leave you with a choice. 


Don’t be afraid to make the move. If it’s a business you are being led to build, go for it. God has never given a vision without provision. God is with you. In the words of Steve Harvey it’s time to jump. God will always allow you to land safely. 


In this new year my prayer for all my readers is that you jump. Whatever it is you are afraid to take that leap in, I want you to silence those negative voices and jump. Start your business. Enroll for those classes. Take that test. Go on that first date. There is greatness after the leap……


Come from behind the vail of fear and allow 2023 be your best year yet!!

17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by The Honest Mom Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page