top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Joy

The first 10 days

When a new president takes office there is usually a summary done on his first 100 days. Well I started a new job so I’m going to summarize my first 10 days.


I want to make it abundantly clear that I really didn’t know fully what I was getting myself into. I had a general idea but there was no way to fully understand it until I was doing it. Working in a school with children in any capacity is challenging. I worked in the private sector for 3 years and there were days I ran out of the school. But then there were days it was difficult for me to leave the kids. I’ve gone from private to public and let me just say these kids are different. I can’t explain to you why they’re different they just are. But aside from the kids the job itself and the requirements are more.


I have always considered myself to be open to any challenge. Most of my challenges have been intellectual through. Expanding my mind and thinking through things that required solutions. I was good at that. This job has come with not just intellectual challenges but physical ones as well. Physically it’s taking a toll on me. So much so that after work on Friday I had an unbelievable melt down. I has so many regrets. This wasn’t about not loving the job because I do. This was about me regretting all the times I could have made better choices for myself but instead I made excuses. I gave myself permission to use my illness as a crutch to not change my body. God had given me many different things to do but I chose to stay stagnant. Now I’m suffering for it. I could have taken this post in a completely different direction but I feel like this was important to share. We get comfortable in various things and places in our lives. Then when you come face to face with a life changing challenge you quit because it’s too hard. In addition to being off work for a year and a half I didn’t use the pandemic to my advantage. I ate and slept for the greater part now I have to be at work at 7:15 am and by 10am I need a nap.


What am I really trying to say here? Don’t get comfortable. Life is moving with or without you and if you aren’t ready it could pass you up. I almost walked away from this amazing blessing because my body wasn’t ready. But what I needed to realize is although it’s not and this is hard, quitting is not an option. If we quit every time life got hard we would never accomplish anything.


So when you meet your challenge remind yourself that you are more than able to meet and beat it. There may be days you feel overwhelmed. Cry if you must but regroup and get back to it. Quitting is not an option. This is the most important thing I learned in my first 10 days. I am now mentally ready to take on the rest of the year. I don’t know what it holds but I’m ready.

16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by The Honest Mom Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page