top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Joy

43 is Hurting Me

On my most recent birthday I turned 43 years old. Since that day I have noticed things happening to my body that I don’t like and I want to stop immediately. On my actual birthday I lost my phone, only it wasn’t lost, it was in my bra the entire time and I didn’t feel it. Nevermind that fact that my music was playing in the car and when I pinged it, the ping came through the car speakers. None of that mattered. It didn’t matter that there was evidence of the phone in the car and on my person somewhere, what mattered was I couldn’t find it and was convinced that somehow I had left it in the restaurant and I needed to go back and get it. Long story short I’m losing my mind. Realizing you're aging is very humbling.


There are so many things that happen as you get older that no one warns you about. Getting older literally hurts. It’s amazing that I’m constantly reminded that I don’t look 43. It's a great self-esteem booster. But if they only knew what was happening inside my body they would wonder if I was 43 or 53. In my 30s I started having these cramps in various parts of my body that I didn’t know I had. How do you get a cramp in your rib cage? Like how? Then my knees stopped responding to my brain as if they were on strike and their demands weren’t being met. Now in my 40s I can't stay awake at all. If I sit still anywhere too long I’m asleep like I am a resident trying to choose my speciality. My memory is shot and I'm irritable. I think I'm a toddler!!


One thing that hasn’t failed me though is my muscle memory. When I get in my car I very often drive to places that I had no intention of going at that time because at one point this was a place I went often. Then I have to sit at said place and try to recall where I was supposed to actually be. This is me finding the good in everything! I know this sounds far fetched but this is my life now. So if this is happening in my 40s what do I have to look forward to in my 50s and 60s?


I want to warn every young person that aging is painful. I’m not going to do you like the elders in my life did me. Take care of yourself as best as you can now. That will prolong the inevitable. It won’t stop it though so just be ready because no matter how many kale smoothies you drink and no matter how often you go to the gym your knees will go on strike. Your back will be fine today and completely lock up on you tomorrow. Today you have 20/20 vision tomorrow you are at the eye doctor choosing stylish frames for your invisible bifocals. The only way to avoid getting old is to die young but who wants that? Nobody right?


Run your treadmill, and do your yoga. Put off the inevitable for as long as you can but just know….. Its coming!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by The Honest Mom Blog. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page